Childhood’s End

mishaburnett

I recently stopped listening to an audiobook.  It was Arthur Clarke’s Childhood’s End, which was a book that impressed me greatly as a teenager.  It was a very good reading, too, Eric Michael Summerer was the narrator, and he has a fine voice and a good grasp of tone and timing.

Despite this, I ended up having to give up on it about two-thirds of the way through.  Part of it was that Clarke’s ear for dialogue has dated very poorly–the characters didn’t just talk like people in the 1950s, they talked like boring people from the 1950s.

Mostly, though, it was the polemic.  I don’t remember it being this thick from when I read the book before, which may be due to the fact that at the time I agreed with it.  Or perhaps I was simply a less sophisticated reader thirty-something years ago.

Childhood’s End has huge…

View original post 455 more words

Childhood’s End

Leave a Reply

